Gary! Don’t call me a*shole…

Let me put the record straight: I am addicted to Garry France blog on his ride through the US. He now has done about 11,000 miles, and we have many more miles and weeks of informative and entertaining posts to hope for.

But does Gary use the right blogging software? His choice is “Blogger“, and after some surfing I feel that more bike enthusiasts are on Blogger then the other heavy weight “WordPress“, which I am using.

Blogger was created by Pyra Labs in 1999 and bought by Google in 2003. The blogs are hosted by Google at sub-domains of blogspot.com.

WordPress is an open source CMS, often used as a blog publishing application powered by PHP and MySQL and as it is used by over 12% of the 1,000,000 biggest websites, WordPress is the most popular CMS in use today. It was first released on May 27, 2003, by Matt Mullenweg. As of August 2010, version 3.0 had been downloaded over 12.5 million times.

But changing blogging host is not easy, as you loose your followers and subscriptions, and have to build your “recognition” again. So I would recommend: stick with what you started, only consider changing if and when you move to a new subject or theme.

Blogger has the power of Google behind it, but this is also something that annoys me a bit. When posting comments to Gary, I have to walk through a lengthy procedure, identifying myself and having to answer security questions. And here, I feel like having been called a a*shole. Check this out:

I think this is a bit over-engineered, each time a post a comment, a word verification is necessary

Do you have funny examples of these machine generated security words?

And to Gary: your blog is so interesting and your comments on comments so valuable, that I will continue answering these security questions, even if they seem to be calling me a*shole 🙂

Have s safe ride.

5 Responses to “Gary! Don’t call me a*shole…”

  1. It took me some time to read your post to understand why I might be calling you an a*hole. It wasn’t until I saw the screenshot of the word verification that I realised what it meant! That is very funny! Well done – a most creative post!

    Thanks for mentioning my blog!

    Gary

  2. Found you blog. You are correct about changing blog host, but you are also right about how blogger is really good.
    Like your blog and plan on reading more.

  3. So true how changing host loses your recognition!
    I came back to blogger again more recently because I find it a lot more simple to use haha

    ps. I enjoy reading your blog, and I’d like to put you on my links list if you wouldn’t mind!

    Pepper
    bedfordbiker.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

