Flickriver and the Harley-Davidson motorcycles

I want to present you a new feature which I will try to integrate more often into my posts.

My dear readers will surely have noticed, this blog is often less about words, and more about images, the visualization of our Harley-Davidson experiences and emotions, trying to replicate what we saw in our rides.

Unfortunately, quality pictures can quickly become heavy lifting work for some browsers and the bandwidth by which they are connected to the internet. Therefor I try to keep the displayed pictures below 20 for each post, and scaled the pictures down to 450px in width. It is a bad but necessary compromise, as most pictures are best viewed in a larger scale, and often I have double or triple the amount of pictures supporting a event.

I upload the full set of pictures into Flickr, but even here the viewing is not ideal, white screen background and numerous needed clicks to move around, do not generate a positive user experience. Until I found Flickriver


which is basically a simple viewer of pictures stored in Flickr. This is how the Flickriver page will look, and I recommend you to increase the image size to large, can be done individually on the left upper right of the page:

From now on, you will more often find a link at the end of a post, pointing to the relevant set of images, viewed with Flickriver. Then all you have to do is scroll down the page, the images will be added dynamically, flowing like a river, now you know why its called Flickriver.

Here a small collection of links, note that each time you reload the page, the thumbnails change. Please enjoy and comment what you think:

Art Bleiglass - View my 'Highgate Cemetery Ride' set on Flickriver

Art Bleiglass - View my 'SOFER 2010 - Hogsback Blue Ride' set on Flickriver

Art Bleiglass - View my 'SOFER 2010 - Saturday impressions' set on Flickriver

Art Bleiglass - View my 'SOFER 2010 - Friday' set on Flickriver

Art Bleiglass - View my 'RNLI Selsey' set on Flickriver

2 Responses to “Flickriver and the Harley-Davidson motorcycles”

  1. MacDuff, thank you. Yes, I presently crop all pictures, big or small, to HD format (16:9). I have a old heavy brick, the first prosumer digital SLR from Nikon, the D1, bought 10 years ago. Has “only” 2.7 megapixel, but good enough for web-optimized sizes, the lenses make the difference. Check out my 3 posts on which camera, which zoom and which aperture.

  2. BRAVO! This is EXCELLENT! I will probably steal this.

    You have some great shots. Really appreciate the crop on large images (is that 16:9?).

    You are a Nikon man?

Leave a Reply

