Connecting a Garmin ZUMO 660 to a 2010 Road King Classic

I thought about it for quite some time, was not sure if a classic Harley-Davidson should have a modern GPS navigator, classic looks versus modern design, less is better versus usability…., at the end the touring aspect won. The Road King Classic is a tourer, and that is what I plan to do, touring, going to distant places I did not go before.

Yes, a map could do, but I like my gadgets and toys, and a GPS navigation unit was already on my Goldwing in 2001, this very basic, colorless and bulky Garmin Streetpilot, that could not tell you left from right, but just put a arrow on the screen to tell you in what direction behind the horizon your destination may be, as if you would be sailing on a yacht on open oceans…

2001 Garmin Streetpilot

For a quarter of the 2001 price of this antique Streetpilot you now get in 2010 a all singing all dancing Garmin ZUMO 660, and I ordered one.

2010 Garmin ZUMO 660

It comes with some useful accessories, a very good and flexible handlebar RAM-mount, and a motorbike connector, a cradle with PowerCable, which you need to fix the ZUMO to your bike and connect to the Road King power supply – if you do not want the unit to run out of battery after 3-5 hours.

Garmin PowerCable

What I planed to do was to connect fused power linea to the Accessory Connector, which I found in front of the battery of my Road King. I did not cut off the other connections (Audio, Mic, USB), just left them untouched.

To to the job, I had first to remove the seat as explained in the owner’s manual.

As the ZUMO PowerCable comes with bare wires, I needed to do some shopping, a Supplementary 12V power point was needed. You can get them from your Harley-Davidson dealership (Part 91843-97), or buy them on eBay from  less reputable source, but cheaper.


Supplementary 12V Power Point (eBay style)

My plan was to lay the cable from the handlebar, below the tank, towards the battery. So first thing I had to do was to remove the tank. That was the most tricky part, and to prepare for the job I had to locate the fuel pump fuse, the fuse box is under the left side cover.

The fuse box

  • With the bike running, I pull the fuel pump fuse until the bike stalled, which took just a few seconds. As the petrol in the injection system is under pressure it would spray all over the place if I didn’t do this prior to disconnecting the fuel line.
  • I could now remove the fuel line under the tank by pulling up on the fitting  and disconnecting the main fuel line, it works similar to a compressed air fitting.
  • After that I remove the console fastener (1:) as well as a small screw at the front of the console,disconnect the electrical fittings (A) from the tank and the console, and pulled the overflow hose (B) off the tank.
  • Now I removed the tank fasteners at the end of the tank (2:), and at each side of the front of the tank.
  • Finally I could lift up the tank slightly first to disconnect the electrical connector under the tank, and then carefully remove tank.

Tank and Console fixings


Connector (A) between Console and Tank


Tank is removed, make sure its nearly run empty

Once the tank was removed, the “plastic” world of my Harley came into view. The black cable tunnel runs from front to back, and has a clip-on cover. My plan was to run the Garmin PowerCable inside this tunnel, along the left side (arrows).

The cover could easily be opened (see arrows for clips), suddenly revealing the verycolorful electrical backbone of the bike.

Now that you have the tunnel open, all you need is find a nice place for the Garmin PowerCable to rest. From the handlebar, I routed it through the Nacelle, together with the cables from the left controls, and from there into the main left side cable channel.

I did not need to remove the Nacelle or any light fittings, the cable fitted through the hole. It is tight, but all I had to remove was the fuse on the Garmin PowerCable. Also the 4:1 bridge passed through without problems.

Now I could close the main cable tunnel again, replace and reconnect the tank and console with all electrical connections, and start to build the final connection, the one to the Supplementary 12V power point I bought, some soldering helped.

I cut off and binned the cigarette lighter type socket and soldered the cables together (2), covering them with Heat-Shrinkable Tubes with Adhesive inner Liner. The lead (3) is wired so the ignition and fairing switch have to in the on position, but it can be changed so it works with the ignition only.

Push the new power point (3) into the Accessory Connector, check the fuse is in the Garmin PowerCable (1), roll and bind the loose cables together and store away in front of the battery (12V). I did the same with the Audio out/Microphone/miniUSB jacks (USB), as I am not yet using them at the moment, but could add later some audio out jack to the right side cover or console, that has not yet been decided. At least they are safe and somewhat protected from the elements against corrosion.

Put the seat back on, connect the ZUMO 660 to the cradle, and off you go. This is how the job looked after less then 2 hours of work.

Important note: this is what I did, I do not recommend
you doing this yourself, I could be wrong and you or your bike
could be damaged in the process.
Please ask your local Harley-Davidson dealership
for advice, or better: let them do it.

3 Responses to “Connecting a Garmin ZUMO 660 to a 2010 Road King Classic”

  1. I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today.

  2. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and my users would really benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Regards!

  3. This GPS really helps in navigation matter. I like it !

Leave a Reply

