Welcome to my Road King Classic 2010 Blog

In March 2010, I decided it is time to start a new chapter, and move to a motorcycle I always wanted to own, a Harley Davidson. If I was looking for reliability or performance, I maybe should have stayed with my Japanese Tupperware, or, to be on the safe side, move to my Teutonic roots. But I wanted emotions, classic lines and nostalgia based on history, not just copied design or space aged technology. It had to be a Harley Davidson, as it had a CV starting in 1903, few surviving bike manufacturer can boast about that.

Moving away from 9 years and 81.000 km on a Honda GL 1800 Goldwing is a big call, believe me. Add to that 60.000 km on a Pan European, and the name HONDA is engraved in you brain. A total of 141.000 km of comfortable, reliable drive, in whatever weather conditions, from sub-freezing to melting hot, 12 month a year, left me with gratitude and thanks to my old companions.

But once the divorce had been decided, the new direction chosen, the questions started. Which Harley-Davidson is right one for me at this time of my life? Do not forget, I am a complete Harley novice, all I knew is that the are massive V2’s engines involved beside some other (hopefully wrong)  preconception of thirsty but lame performance, mad vibrations and missing suspensions.

Harley Davidson Road King Classic

I had to go through a steep learning curve, as I like to meet any sales representative well informed. I had to do my homework first, and I want to share with you the thoughts, options and considerations I discovered in my journey to a Harley Davidson during the next couple of posts into this blog.

Thereafter, I hope to be able to let this follow by the experiences and fun I will have with my Road King Classic after taking delivery of the new bike, which will happen (hopefully) in mid April 2010, when I was promised it will stops raining in the UK for the rest of the year.

But first lets have a last look at my old friend, the Wing…

Honda GL1800 GoldwingHonda GL1800, Goldwing, goodbye…

One Response to “Welcome to my Road King Classic 2010 Blog”

  1. MacDuff Says:

    Hey, Road King UK !! Alright!

    Thanks for the accommodation and good luck on your blog! I will link back to you at this URL.

    About those prices – DEAR GOD – you’re right, I might weep a little. You’re paying about 30% more than us and it looks like Uncle Sam and the Queen are getting the difference. Wow.

    It’s pretty fantastic that ABS is standard for you, all else considered. And in fairness, BMW makes a hell of a machine. But good for you, you truly have the cat’s meow and I wish you nothing but the best, chief.

    Yours,

    MacDuff

Leave a Reply

